List of Boxing Weight Classes

by Jason Brick

About Jason Brick

Jason Brick has written professionally since 1994. His work has appeared in numerous venues including "Hand Held Crime" and "Black Belt Magazine." He has completed hundreds of technical and business articles, and came to full-time writing after a long career teaching martial arts. Brick received a Bachelor of Arts in psychology from the University of Oregon.



Boxing and other combat sports divide competitors into weight classes in order to prevent injury, ensure fair competition and provide a more exciting fight. In the United States, the Association of Boxing Commissions, or ABC, governs weight class decisions. Though ABC sets the weights, individual boxing groups such as the International Boxing Federation or World Boxing Council sanction the weights. In some cases, the names of weight classes will vary between individual groups. For example, the 112 lb. to 115 lb. weight class is called Super Flyweight by the World Boxing Council, but Junior Bantamweight by the International Boxing Federation.

Women's Divisions

Professional and amateur women are divided into 13 weight divisions, adjusted to account for the fact that women are generally smaller than men. Women's classes include Pinweight, up to 101 lbs; Light Flyweight, 101 to 106 lbs.; Flyweight, 106 to 110 lbs.; Light Bantamweight, 110 to 114 lbs.; Bantamweight, 114 to 119 lbs.; Featherweight, 119 to 125 lbs.; Lightweight, 125 to 132 lbs.; Light Welterweight, 132 to 138 lbs.; Welterweight, 138 to 145 lbs.; Light Middleweight, 145 to 154 lbs.; Middleweight, 154 to 165 lbs.; Light Heavyweight, 165 to 176 lbs.; and Heavyweight, over 189 lbs.

Professional Men's Divisions

Professional male fighters are divided into 17 weight classes. The classes are: Strawweight, up to 105 lbs.; Junior Flyweight, 105 to 108 lbs.; Flyweight, 108 to 112 lbs.; Super Flyweight, 112 to 115 lbs.; Bantamweight, 115 to 118 lbs.; Super Bantamweight, 118 to 122 lbs.; Featherweight, 122 to 126 lbs.; Super Featherweight, 126 to 130 lbs.; Lightweight, 130 to 135 lbs.; Super Lightweight, 135 to 140 lbs.; Welterweight, 140 to 147 lbs.; Super Welterweight, 147 to 154 lbs.; Middleweight, 154 to 160 lbs.; Super Middleweight, 160 to 168 lbs.; Light Heavyweight, 168 to 175 lbs.; Cruiserweight, 175 to 200 lbs. and Heavyweight, over 200 lbs.

Amateur Men's Divisions

Amateur male fighters are divided into 11 weight classes with similar names but different cutoffs. The classes are Light Flyweight, up to 106 lbs.; Flyweight, 106 to 112 lbs.; Bantamweight, 112 to 119 lbs.; Featherweight, 119 to 125 lbs; Lightweight, 125 to 132 lbs.; Light Welterweight, 132 to 141 lbs.; Welterweight, 141 to 152 lbs.; Middleweight, 152 to 165 lbs.; Light Heavyweight, 165 to 178 lbs.; Heavyweight, 178 to 201 lbs.; and Super Heavyweight, over 201 lbs.

Photo Credits:

  • boxing gloves image by jovica antoski from

This article reflects the views of the writer and does not necessarily reflect the views of Jillian Michaels or